Fixing an ubuntu ‘broken dependencies’ manually

Posted: April 27, 2009 in Linux
Tags: , ,

I got a little problem after upgrading my Fujitsu’s Ubuntu 8.10 to 9.04, I removed some of the kernel files and directory by hand some time ago, and it turned back as a problem after the upgrading was complete. To make it short, I can not update anything before the broken dependencies is fixed, but I can’t fix the broken dependencies because all the files were already manually deleted by me. Lucky me the Synaptic Package Manager list the directories and files that were deleted, so here’s what I’ve done

1. Created all the directories with mkdir
mkdir -p /lib/modules/2.6.27-7-generic/volatile/

2. Created all the files with touch
touch /boot/System.map-2.6.27-7-generic
touch /boot/initrd.img-2.6.27-7-generic

3. Fixing it with
sudo aptitude -f remove

And finally I can use the Update Manager again.

Comments
  1. david says:

    Thank you, I did the same. With your instructions I was able to fix the broken dependences

  2. addy b. says:

    thanx sweetheart I fixed a problem you’re great

  3. paulo says:

    thanks a lot im new in kubuntu and this helps me a lot an i would say that everything i did in windows i can do it in linux im very happy =D but i still cant play dota an cod4 in garena but linux its very estable im really happy thanks

    From Peru =D

  4. Randy says:

    I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had to do this to fix a broken dependency issue in Debian-based distros. This isn’t to say that I frequently have dependency issues in Debian-based distros, but when they do break it’s usually because Apt can’t find a file for removal. Why doesn’t apt check if the file is there and then just simply ignore it if it’s not. There needs to be some better checks in place there.

  5. Deepak says:

    i did the same but i m getting the error is

    “Processing was halted because there were too many errors.”

    what can i do now plzz help any one.

    • rumytaulu says:

      I guess the error message is clear, you have too many errors and (maybe) it can not be fix this way
      BTW … what did you do before you get that error?

  6. Aw, this was an exceptionally good post. Taking the time and actual effort
    to create a superb article… but what can I
    say… I procrastinate a lot and never seem to get nearly anything done.

Leave a comment